Monday, June 13, 2011

Four parties to form new Turkish Parliament

Four party groups will take their place in Turkey’s new Parliament as electoral officials had opened more than 90 percent of the nation’s ballot boxes by late Sunday.

The ruling Justice and Development Party, or AKP, will form a majority government after winning over 50 percent of the popular vote; the incumbents will be joined again by the opposition Republican People's Party, or CHP, the Nationalist Movement Party, or MHP, and the Peace and Democracy Parliament, or BDP, in the legislature.

A party must have at least 20 MPs in order to form a parliamentary group.

Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdoğan arrived at AKP headquarters and is expected to address ecstatic party supporters, who have gathered in front of the building, cheering and chanting slogans.

CHP leader Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu also went to his party's headquarters. It was reported that Kılıçdaroğlu would issue a press statement later in the evening.

Around 35 BDP-backed independent candidates have been elected to the Turkish Parliament after the party supported a number of independents to circumvent the country’s 10 percent election threshold.