Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Georgia officially withdraws from CIS

Georgia officially withdrew from the alliance of former Soviet states on Tuesday, August 18. After the war with Russia on Georgian breakaway regions, South Ossetia and Abkhazia, Georgian Parliament voted unanimously to leave the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

Georgia was an official member since 1994. Official members of CIS are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Turkmenistan is unofficial associate member and Ukraine is de facto participant state.

In June, Georgian Parliament expressed that the validity of the founding treaty of the CIS Parliamentary Assembly of 27 March 1992 and the Parliament’s decision of 27 May 1995 on the same framework expired.

At the same time, Georgian Foreign Ministry said that the country’s relations with the member countries will still continue and improve.